[Graphics-enabled version]
Hobart's southern suburbs include Sandy Bay, Mt. Nelson and Taroona. Sandy Bay is one of Hobart's more upscale suburbs, and is also the home of the University of Tasmania's largest campus.

Australia's first casino, Wrest Point, is located near the University in Sandy Bay, as is the Royal Yacht Club, which hosts the Tasmanian end of the Sydney to Hobart yacht race.

Mount Nelson is the site of the south's largest senior secondary college. The Signal Station on Mount Nelson was established early last century as a relay point for communications from the Channel area to Hobart. The station affords excellent views across the river and has dining facilities.

Adjoining the Signal Station is Truganini Reserve , which has a walking track to Taroona.

Taroona is one of Hobart's outer suburbs, and features a model Tudor village and the Shot Tower.

Related links:

Regional cities/towns
HOBART: City centre | Eastern shore | Northern suburbs
Southern suburbs | Waterfront
DERWENT VALLEY: Hamilton | Mt. Field National Park | New Norfolk
HUON VALLEY: Cygnet | Geeveston | Huonville
KINGBOROUGH: Bruny Island | Kingston | Taroona
Battery Point | Dover and Hastings | Mt. Wellington | Richmond
Salamanca Place | Wrest Point Casino

Tour home | Intro. to Tasmania | Site map | Flora & fauna
North-west coast | North & north-east | East coast | Tasman Peninsula
Southern Tasmania | West coast | Central & midlands
FAQ page | Feedback | © Copyright Justin Ridge, 1995-2010